Warmth…

image

We bumped into each other on the stairs.

” Leaving? Home?”
“Yes You?”
“Oh, I got a small errand. Nearby. Then home”

” Okay. It has been very long..”

Quick excited chatter and giggly laughter, much to the amusement of the hospital staff leaving for the day..!
We remained unmindful, too preoccupied with snatching words out of each other! More giggles!
And shushing!

“I think I’ll walk you to your car.”
” But I thought you were leaving by the front door”!
” Yes, but you could drop me off at the front door.. If you don’t mind the detour?”

” Detour!!” HA!?
“Okay,okay. Call it an excuse to be together for a little while longer…”

“How endearing you sound, really!”
” Well..it has been so long..”
“Yes, it has…”

45.786 seconds later….

” So here’s the front door.What now?
Where exactly are you going anyway? I could drop you off,you know? ”

” But it’s less than walking distance..just behind the hospital. Besides,if you get off the main road now, you’ll get caught in this terrible traffic.”

” So are you saying I should come, or I should not?”

” I’d love you to drop me off..a little more time to chat with you. But..”

Hesitant honking behind us. Sort of a mini traffic jam on the hospital ‘runway’.

” Well, STOP being dumb and hop back in. I’m dropping you off. What the heck! ”

7 mins 54 seconds, giggly  exchange an eavesdropper would label silly, and two right turns later…

” That’s the place. I told you it’s shorter than a stone’s throw away.”

“Well, this looks nice.
So how do I get out on to the main road from here?”.

” You take a right, the first left ,then another..
Oh well..lemme come along and leave you till the end of the alleyways ”

“NO.Definitely not. You’ll be walking back a longer distance than that we travelled!”

” But I’ll get to be with you a little longer”

“Awww!
You’re crazy! But you’re sweet, really.”

End of the alley. Main road ahead. We had finally ran out of excuses..!!

Hugs. Byes. Promises to do better than WhatsApp messages, staccato conversations and chance meetings on staircases!

And I drive back home with the warmth that comes from a few short minutes of honest, shared laughter, unabridged chatter and the rare, blessed feeling of being wanted for just being you.

Thank you, P.
Stay blessed.

P.S.- Traffic? I didn’t really notice it today!

Leave a Reply

